Ask Audrey Ask Audrey
AUDREY Journal

Reviews

COMING SOON ...

Reviews and critical opinion on the freshest and best in theatre, opera, dance and family shows in Sydney and beyond – and our pick of the best to come

Me and My Mother, Singing
Theatre

Me and My Mother, Singing

Oleg Pupovac's earliest memory is a small figurine of a lion, perched on the dresser in his parents’ bedroom.

Where: Blood Moon Theatre, Kings Cross, Sydney When: 22 - 30 Aug 2018

DollyWould
Theatre

DollyWould

The UK's Sh!t Theatre makes its Sydney debut with a show about country legend Dolly Parton, cloning, branding, immortality and death.

Where: Old 505 Theatre, Newtown, Sydney When: 1 - 8 Sep 2018

Horror
Theatre

Horror

An imaginative, terrifying tribute to the horror movie genre from Netherland's-based theatre maker Jakop Ahlbom.

Where: Sydney Opera House, Bennelong Point When: 29 Aug - 2 Sep 2018

Ironbound
Theatre

Ironbound

An immigrant negotiates for her future with men who can offer her love or security, but never both.

Where: Kings Cross Theatre, Kings Cross, Sydney When: 31 Aug - 15 Sep 2018

The Misanthrope
Theatre

The Misanthrope

From Moliere via Justin Fleming, a piercing satire of glamorous society, where compliments are commerce and honesty is unwelcome.

Where: Sydney Opera House, Bennelong Point When: 28 Aug - 28 Sep 2018

Words Are Weapons
Music

Words Are Weapons

In ​Words Are Weapons​, ​David Wenham​’s readings of great texts are paired with live scores, creating a one-off combination for audiences.

Where: Yellow House Gallery, Potts Point, Sydney When: 29 - 31 Aug 2018

The Maids
Theatre

The Maids

Jean Genet’s 1947 classic depicts housemaids Claire and Solange, and their elaborate, sexually-charged rituals, performed while their mistress is out.

Where: Belvoir Downstairs, Surry Hills, Sydney When: 25 Aug - 15 Sep 2018

The Humans
Theatre

The Humans

A family assembles for Thanksgiving dinner in the run-down Manhattan apartment of the youngest daughter.

Where: Old Fitzroy Theatre, Woolloomooloo, Sydney When: 5 Sep - 6 Oct 2018

Shabbat Dinner
Theatre

Shabbat Dinner

Narrative and meal unfold as one in this participatory theatre event created by Jessica Bellamy.

Where: Griffin Theatre, Kings Cross, Sydney When: 10 - 15 Sep 2018

The Season
Theatre

The Season

Through its portrait of an indigenous family at work and play, The Season opens your eyes to the living reality of a Tasmanian culture.

Where: Riverside Theatres, Parramatta, Sydney When: 20 - 22 Sep 2018

What's On

ALL THE REVIEWS

Mum, Me & the I.E.D
Add to favourites
TheatreDepot Theatre, Marrickville, Sydney 15 Aug - 1 Sep 2018

Mum, Me & the I.E.D

Audrey review: Not as theatrically adventurous as other plays we’ve seen deal with military service-induced PTSD, but still a substantial, thoughtful work.

Moby Dick
Add to favourites
TheatreSeymour Centre, Chippendale, Sydney 9 - 25 Aug 2018

Moby Dick

Audrey review: Fast and furious, but this Sport for Jove production doesn’t deliver the killer blow you expect.

Nell Gwynn
Add to favourites
TheatreNew Theatre, Newtown, Sydney 7 Aug - 8 Sep 2018

Nell Gwynn

Audrey review: The rough and tumble of Restoration theatre captured in a big and bustling comedy.

The Almighty Sometimes
Add to favourites
TheatreGriffin Theatre, Kings Cross, Sydney 27 Jul - 8 Sep 2018

The Almighty Sometimes

Audrey review: This fine Griffin production of Kendall Feaver's play taps its underlying anger and urgency and seldom lets you off its hook.

Top